Thursday, 18 August 2022

About Structures

Structures of the ANC

  • The Branch is the basic unit of the ANC, where members participate in ANC activities and political discussions. The branch is the `vanguard` of the community, representing its interests, expressing its aspirations and mobilising it to work together for local development. Each branch elects a Branch Executive Committee at an Annual General Meeting.
  • The Regional Executive Committee (REC) is elected at a Regional Conference every two years by the representatives of the branches in the region.
  • The Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) is elected at a Provincial Conference every three years by the representatives of the branches in the province.
  •  The National Executive Committee (NEC) is the highest organ of the ANC between Conferences and has the responsibility to lead the organisation. It is elected every five years at the National Conference. The NEC elects a National Working Committee (NWC) from within its ranks to coordinate the work of the organisation on a day-to-day basis.
  •  The National Conference, which takes place every five years, is the highest decision-making body of the ANC. Branch representatives comprise at least 90 percent of voting delegates at the National Conference. A National General Council (NGC) is held between National Conferences to evaluate the programme of the movement.
  • The ANC Women`s League functions as an autonomous body within the overall structure of the ANC. Its objective is to defend and advance the rights of women against all forms of oppression and to ensure that women play a full role in the life of the organisation. The Women`s League is open to all women who are members of the ANC.
  • The ANC Youth League also functions as an autonomous body, with the objective of uniting and leading young people in confronting and dealing with the problems that face the youth, and in ensuring that the youth make a full and rich contribution to the work of the ANC. Membership of the Youth League is open to all people between the ages of 14 and 35.


The Tripartite Alliance


The ANC is in an alliance with the South African Communist Party(SACP) and the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU). Each Alliance partner is an independent organisation with its own constitution, membership and programmes. The Alliance is founded on a common commitment to the objectives of the National Democratic Revolution, and the need to unite the largest possible cross-section of South Africans behind these objectives.


Where to find the ANC
Branches of the ANC are to be found in every city, town and village in South Africa. The ANC has a national headquarters, nine provincial offices and several regional offices.


Amaqhawe Building
42 Du Toitspan Road
City Centre
Tel:  053 831 2230
Fax: 053 832 4151


Subscribe to ANC Northern Cape Monthly Newsletter by entering your E-mail Address